The art of blogging?

“You need some oomph, some pizzazz..something!” For a second I thought one of the closest friends I have in London was telling me I’d lost my IT factor! My brain fast tracked to retail therapy, buying low cut dresses with short hemlines and potentially trying out some sort of surgery to correct my lack of oomph!

“Pay attention woman! You’re recipes make even me think I can cook, but…it lacks something! Just a picture of Drake isn’t enough.” That statement definitely brought me back to the ground! She was talking about Cooksahoy! So, with a sigh of relief I put the terrifying thought of surgery and short hemlines behind me.

But it did get me thinking! Now that I’m slowly figuring out the technical side of having a blog (I learn everyday what NOT to do, how to fix something that just doesn’t seem right/to work), though I highly doubt I’m going to learn the fine art of coding, she was right – How do I get eyeballs? Even more important Is Cooksahoy even worth eyeballs?

I put the question to my husband, far more savvy in the art of sales – Should I be a Gordon Ramsey style terrifying blogger? Or maybe ooze some Nigella Lawson style buttery corn? Or a home spun style of the food mogul Jamie Oliver? – He shot all of them down with just a look! “Honey, its not like you studied for 10 years at Cordon Bleu. Just play with it, be yourself and see what works!”

So that’s exactly what I’m going to do. I’m going to find my oomph & pizzazz slowly, but surely. Heck it took Twitter 6 years to come up with a business model didn’t it?

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “The art of blogging?

  1. Wafa Hakim Orman (@wafa1024) November 16, 2012 at 6:09 pm Reply

    He’s right. (the husband, I mean. Drake is always right but that’s another story.) The only suggestions I would add are: more pictures (including of you cooking) & a more focused niche, though that will probably evolve over time. And a Pinterest button!!

  2. Dhruv Chopra November 16, 2012 at 6:59 pm Reply

    Bah to the Pinterest button (easy plug-in available though for WordPress). Photos are a good idea, but you probably need someone to take them while you’re cooking. Unless, tripod + self-timer camera….

Leave a Reply

